Fear

Fear is something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. There are so many different kinds of fear. With all of them though, they can eclipse the brightest of days. That eclipse has been happening to me a lot lately.

What do I fear? I’m not sure I can put my finger on one thing alone. In the end I think its uncertainty.

I’ve always had a creative streak a mile wide and a very active imagination. Because of this, ideas and stories constantly bubble up in my mind. Writing is something I’ve always wanted to do. But I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not the best with grammar, spelling and so on. In the end when I do write I end up getting frustrated by not really knowing the correct way to do things. So I end up leaving whatever I’m working on unfinished.

On the flip side I’ve always feared what it would mean if I did well with my stories and saw them in print. I feared that being able to do it would make me different than the people around me.

What I’ve come to realize though is that these are things that I have to work through. With the fear of not knowing what I’m doing, I have to work and learn. I’ll stumble and likely, want to tear my hair out at times. But, it’s okay. When that happens I have to pick myself up and try again. In some cases it will end up being again and again.

As far as being different from those around me. I’ve always believed that being normal was overrated and boring. It’s time to get over it.

If you let the fear cloud you and pull you down, you’ll never know if you could have shined brightly!

This entry was posted in Fear. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

